Oxford DUI/OVI/DWI Defense
Fighting Charges in Warren & Butler County
Drunk driving is a first-degree misdemeanor in Ohio. A conviction carries a minimum jail sentence of three days for a first offense, plus up to a $1,000 fine. However, for most people, the most serious consequence is the stigma of a DUI and the loss of driving privileges. For people who need to drive for a living, a DUI/OVI/DWI conviction can take a serious toll on future employment opportunities and endeavors.
Why Choose Our DUI / OVI / DWI Defense Attorneys?
- Attorneys with 25+ years’ combined experience between them
- Former prosecutor & former police chief fighting for you
- 10 Best Award 2015 for DUI/DWI Lawyers
If you face DUI/OVI/DWI charges in Ohio, our Oxford DUI defense lawyers at Haughey & Niehaus, LLC offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case and your options. You don't have to be intimidated by the legal process. However, you do need to take your case seriously. Our attorneys have extensive experience handling DUI cases. See how we can help you battle for your liberty, future, and every legal right.
Call (513) 802-9283 or email us today to request your FREE initial consultation! We are ready to discuss your potential defenses for a DUI / OVI / DWI charge.
Should I Plead Guilty?
Driving under the influence (known as operating a vehicle while intoxicated, or OVI, in Ohio) is a serious charge. Many people who are arrested for DUI/OVI/DWI plead guilty in an attempt to put the charges behind them. However, three years down the road, you will still be paying for high-risk auto insurance on your vehicle. Most people simply can't afford a drunk driving conviction. Multiple DUI/OVI offenses are even more serious, with increased jail time, large fines, and lengthy license suspensions.
We are often able to negotiate first DUI/OVI/DWI offenses down to lesser offenses, and even felony charges can be reduced or dismissed altogether. With a skilled defense attorney on your side, you don't have to plead guilty. You may be able to avoid serious penalties and even a conviction.
Common DUI Defense Strategies
If you are facing charges for driving under the influence, our criminal defense lawyers may be able to challenge:
- Whether the police officer had probable cause to stop you
- The police procedures utilized
- The results of the standard field sobriety test and the breath test machine
Can I Get My License Back?
Please note, if you were arrested for drunk driving, your license may be suspended anywhere from 6 months to 3 years. If you refused a breath test, your license will be automatically suspended for up to 1 year. While these penalties may seem dire, you do have options.
Depending upon the circumstances, we may be able to put any license suspension on hold while your case is pending. This would permit you to drive now while we work through your drunk driving case. Rest assured, we will fight hard to get the judge to stay or terminate your license suspension. In the event this proves impossible, we will work to obtain limited driving privileges.
To speak with an experienced lawyer about your OVI/DUI/DWU case, call us at (513) 802-9283.
Our law office is located on West High Street in Oxford, conveniently across the street from the Butler County Courthouse.